Skip to main content
📞 720.836.7201 ✉ info@onterrasystems.com | ⭐ Trusted Partner: Bing Maps · Azure Maps · HERE Technologies

3.1 Route Planner Tab

The Route Planner tab is the second tab from the left; it contains all the routing-specific options and functions.

3.1 Route Planner Tab

Routes drop down – Allows you to change the active route, add new routes, edit routes, delete routes, and copy routes.
New Route - Create a new route.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Edit Route - Change the route name and color of the route line.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Delete Route - Completely delete the route. This is a permanent action.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Copy Route - Duplicate the route. This is useful if you have many similar routes, you can duplicate a route to use as a starting point and then make changes.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Optimize button – Optimizes the route using either the shortest distance or the shortest time, depending on the route options selected.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Optimize All Routes button - Access this option from the drop-down arrow on the "Optimize" button. This will balance all of the stops on the Route Planner tab across all of the routes that you have created. The basic RouteSavvy subscription includes 5 multi-route optimizations per day. You may want to save your project before you try this option, as it cannot be undone.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Get Directions button – Simply updates the route directions and times, but does not re-optimize. This is useful if you have been manually changing the stop order.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Route Options button – Allows you to review and edit route options for the active route, such as start time, shortest time vs. shortest distance, and avoid highways and avoid tolls options.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Up/down arrows – Allows you to move the selected (highlighted) stop up or down in the list of stops.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

icon – Allows you to remove the selected stop from the route.
This does not delete the original location from the map or the Map tab.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

icon – Allows you to remove ALL stops from the active route.
This is a permanent action, there is no "undo" button.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Icon zoomtostopsicon – Allows you to zoom to ALL stops in the active route.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

icon – Allows you to download all stops in their current order as a CSV.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Individual Stop

Individual Stop – Displays the current stop position. Right click or left click wrench icon to access stop actions and properties.

Stop Wrench Menu
Click the Wrench icon next to any stop to access the following additional actions for each stop.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Delete Stop - Deletes the stop from the Route. This does NOT delete the underlying location, nor does it delete the stop from any other Route.

Zoom to Stop - Centers the stop on the map.

Add this Stop as the Start - Copies the stop to the #1 position in the Route, making it the start.

Add this Stop as the End - Copies the stop to the last position in the Route, making it the end.

Change Stop Order - Allows you to change the order of the stop by number, so in this example you can change Stop #2 to be any other stop number in the Route.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Change Stop Route - Allows you to delete the stop from the current Route and add it to another Route in one simple step.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

Stop Properties - Change Stop Units, Stop Time, Notes, etc. for the stop.
Note: This does not change any information on the original location, it only changes this stop on this route.
Screenshot: 3.1 Route Planner Tab

If you have questions contact RouteSavvy Support.


<< Previous - Working with Folders

Table of Contents

>> Next - Add Stops to a Route

← All user guide sections